Art Rock Show – There Are No Ordinary Moments (Week 08)

Ovrfwrd is een vierkoppige Amerikaanse band die instrumentale progressieve rock speelt. Ze werden in 2012 opgericht met drummer Rikki Davenport, gitarist Mark Ilaug, bassist Kyle Lund en toetsenist Chris Malmgren. Ze kwamen samen met diverse en complexe achtergronden en muzikale invloeden.

Prog Archives review: “The mood is set on “Red Blanket”, to my utter astonishment, the brassy trumpet seems to be the main bristle in this extended track that also features some hyper percussive support from Rikki in a jazzier tendency that is a surprise. Though the heavy jazzy feel is overt as well as compelling, make no mistake about the patented Ovrfwrd sound kicking in, especially when the stringed duo muscles into the arrangement. No ordinary moment here! The sonic palette gets a further widening with the sophisticated charm of “Eagle Plains”, ambient skies effortlessly portrayed, twinkling piano elegance and twangy guitar swerves, until Davenport sets down a tight shuffle and elevates it all to a higher level. Needless to say, the piece takes on a robust direction that builds with a swirling synth solo, a grinding guitar, and a menacing disposition that organically flourishes into quite the obsessive shrine. Nothing conventional at this juncture! (…)

Perhaps ideally serving as a summary of their progression, the bass propelled “The Way” perfectly illustrates that talent these four gentlemen keep on proposing with apparent ease. Their brand of instrumental exploration offers not only technical expertise but a showcase for visionary heavy prog with endless shifts and enhancements that keep the interest in full rapture. Richard Davenport dazzles on all the tracks, especially this one. I stated this before and I repeat again, he is my fave current US drummer.

The wait was well-worth it as “There Are No Ordinary Moments”, really has no ordinary moments, just extraordinary ones. 5 exceptional flashes.”

Naast Ovrfwrd (There Are No Ordinary Moments), Regal Worm (Worm!), All Traps on Earth (A Drop of Light), 3rdegree (Ones & Zeros: Volume 0), The Windmill (Tribus) & Gandalf’s Fist (The Clockwork Prologue).

  • Thursday/Donderdag 12.00 – 24.00
  • Friday/Vrijdag 12.00 – 24.00
  • Saturday/Zaterdag 12.00 – 24.00

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.