Art Rock Show – Quiet Euphoria (Week 24)

Amoeba Split is een Spaanse band die progressieve rock mixt, met speciale aandacht voor de Canterbury scene, jazz en klassieke muziek. In 2010 verscheen hun eerste album, “Dance of the Goodbyes”, genomineerd door Progawards als “Beste prog debuutalbum van 2010”.

Peter Thelen van Exposé Online : “This is a band that certainly can’t be accused of flooding the market with product — after their debut album, Dance of the Goodbyes (2010) and the follow-up Second Split (2016), I was beginning to wonder if the band was still a going concern. In fact, they have even managed to add a couple new members for Quiet Euphoria, making them now an octet.

If the earlier albums pushed all of the right buttons for you, then one has nothing to worry about, this one is definitely in the same league, with many of the same 60s-70s Euro/Brit jazz-rock references that made their earlier albums so compelling; one can easily hear the strong hints of Supersister, Soft Machine, and Nucleus in their sound and approach, a creative powerhouse of Canterbury styled sounds if there ever was one, spread out across six tracks of varying length — succinct eough to fit on two sides of a long player.

The core members from way back when are still here, Alberto Villarroya López (electric bass, guitars and keyboards) and Ricardo Castro Varela (piano, electric piano and Hammond organ), both of whom share the band’s songwriting duties, plus drummer / percussionist Fernando Lamas. They are joined by Pablo Añón (tenor sax, alto clarinet), Eduardo “Dubi” Baamonde (soprano sax, flute), Rubén Salvador (trumpet, flügelhorn), Iago Mouriño (piano, electric piano, Hammond organ, and Moog), and Israel Arranz (vibraphone), the latter two who were guests on the previous record. Gone are the guest violins and cello that featured on some of the tracks last time, it seems the band has a clearer direction on where they want to go. (…)

Quiet Euphoria is a powerful album that should have a wide appeal to listeners of instrumental jazz-rock.”

Naast Amoeba Split met Quiet Euphoria, Ciccada (Harvest), Homunculus Res (Limiti All’eguaglianza Della Parte Con Il Tutto), All Traps on Earth (A Drop of Light), Daal (Dances of the Drastic Navels), Birds and Buildings (Bantam to Behemoth) & Accordo Dei Contrari (Kinesis).

  • Thursday/Donderdag 12.00 – 24.00
  • Friday/Vrijdag 12.00 – 24.00
  • Saturday/Zaterdag 12.00 – 24.00

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.